BLENDED LEARNING APPROACH

3.2

Blended learning

Presence may be virtual or hybrid if necessary.

This is the guiding principle adopted by the University of Basel for teaching during the time of the Corona pandemic. One of the university’s aims is to ensure that students receive as much in-person teaching as possible. At the same time, the unpredictable nature of the coronavirus pandemic makes it imperative to ensure that teaching methods are flexible enough for classes to be provided physically (on campus) and virtually (online), and to be able to switch between the two formats. This blended learning approach is set out in the figure below.

Blended-Learning-Guide

Conversion of physical presence courses into blended learning classes requires a certain redesign of the course while maintaining the learning objectives and the ECTS credits acquired if the course is passed (and thus maintaining the overall workload of the student). To achieve this and to redesign courses with relative ease, it is a good idea to think about which objectives and activities can be achieved through asynchronous learning phases (guided independent study) and the best use of the reduced synchronous classroom teaching hours in the virtual or physical classroom.

A successful blended learning teaching concept needs a targeted combination of the synchronous and asynchronous phase (integration concept) and for the combination of the two to be clearly communicated to the students (learning support). Learning objectives will be achieved only by going through the combined learning activities in both phases. The amount of asynchronous independent online study proportionate to in-person study is less important than the didactic design and the timing and sequencing of activities. Match the methods used during in-person teaching and the independent study phases to the learning objectives and skills to be acquired, and integrate various classroom study formats (individual and group work).

BLENDED-LEARNING-ANSATZ

3.2

Blended Learning

«Die Präsenz kann auch virtuell oder allenfalls hybrid sein.»

Unter diesem Motto steht der Blended-Learning-Ansatz der Universität Basel. Einerseits ist es das Ziel, den Studierenden so viel wie möglich Präsenzunterricht zu ermöglichen. Andererseits müssen die Unterrichtsformen gegenüber der unvorhersehbaren Corona-Pandemie flexibel genug sein, so dass die synchron stattfindenden Lehr-Anteile sowohl in physischer Präsenz auf dem Campus als auch in einem virtuellen Lehrraum realisierbar sind und ein Wechsel zwischen diesen «Orten» möglich ist. In der folgenden Abbildung ist dieser Blended-Learning-Ansatz dargestellt.

Blended-Learning-Ansatz

Ursprünglich für physische Präsenz geplante Lehrveranstaltungen in Blended-Learning-Lehrveranstaltungen überzuführen verlangt eine gewisse Neukonzeption der Lehrveranstaltung bei Beibehaltung der Lernziele und der bei Bestehen erwerbbaren ECTS und somit des Gesamt-Workload der Studierenden. Damit dies gut gelingt und die neukonzipierte Lehrveranstaltung gut läuft, lohnt es sich zu überlegen, welche Ziele und Aktivitäten in asynchrone Lernphasen (begleitetes Selbststudium) verschoben werden können und wofür die gekürzte synchrone Präsenzzeit im virtuellen oder physischen Lehrraum sinnvoll eingesetzt werden.

Zentral für ein erfolgreiches Blended-Learning-Unterrichtskonzept ist die gezielte Verknüpfung der synchronen und asynchronen Phase (Integrationskonzept) und dass diese Verknüpfung den Studierenden klar kommuniziert wird (Lernbegleitung). Nur in Kombination der Lernaktivitäten in beiden Phasen werden die Lernziele erreicht. Wie viel oder wie wenig asynchrones selbstgesteuertes Online-Lernen dem Lernen in Präsenzveranstaltungen gegenübersteht, ist weniger wichtig, als die didaktische Gestaltung sowie Taktung und Sequenzierung von Aktivitäten. Stimmen Sie die Methoden in Präsenz- und Selbstlernphasen auf die Lernziele und zu erwerbenden Kompetenzen ab und ermöglichen Sie auch verschiedene Sozialformen (Einzel- und Gruppenarbeiten).