INTEGRATIONSKONZEPT

4.6

Example scenario using the flipped classroom format for large-scale lectures

Characterized by: a large group of students (often more than 50), medium to high interactivity


Definition

The flipped classroom format is a special type of blended learning. Flipped classroom (also called “inverted classroom”) is a teaching method where the usual learning activities are, as the name indicates, “flipped” within and outside the lecture hall or classroom. The students independently acquire the content made available digitally by the lecturers. The valuable in-person teaching time at the university itself is used to expand on this content in an interactive manner; e.g. through discussions, joint assignments or group work.1


Integration concept

Integration concept

Realization

  • Knowledge transfer (input) or skills acquisition (by the student) is part of the asynchronous, independent learning phase via ADAM using pre-produced videos or recordings (e.g. with Panopto) or Tales (New Media Center service) (see Chapter 6.2).
  • The interactive, synchronous classroom teaching sessions are held as groups, with at least one group of those students not present meeting in a virtual learning environment (Zoom). The other group(s) meet in a physical classroom on campus where possible.
  • The students are informed of what they should learn during their asynchronous independent study in preparation for the in-person classes (red line: “learning support”; see Chapter 5).
  • Pro: Synchronous and asynchronous phases are used in a manner that is didactically meaningful.
  • Con: There is a lot of initial work involved in preparing the content for digital distribution. If there are several synchronous groups, the additional time should be taken into account.



1 Source: /www.e-teaching.org, 14 July 2020

INTEGRATIONSKONZEPT

4.6

Beispiel-Szenario Grosse Vorlesungen als Flipped Classroom

Merkmale: viele Studierende (oft mehr als 50), mittlere bis hohe Interaktivität


Definition

Flipped Classroom ist eine spezielle Form des Blended Learning. Mit den synonymen Begriffen «Flipped Classroom» bzw. «Inverted Classroom» wird eine Unterrichtsmethode bezeichnet, in der die üblichen Aktivitäten innerhalb und ausserhalb des Hörsaals oder Klassenzimmers «umgedreht» werden. Die Lernenden eignen sich die von den Lehrenden digital zur Verfügung gestellten Inhalte eigenständig an. Die wertvollen Präsenzzeiten an der Hochschule werden zur gemeinsamen, interaktiven Vertiefung genutzt, z.B. durch Diskussionen, gemeinsame Aufgabenbearbeitung und Gruppenarbeiten.1


Integrationskonzept

Beispiel-Szenario Grosse Vorlesungen als Flipped Classroom

Umsetzung

  • Die Wissensvermittlung (Input) bzw. -aneignung (Perspektive Studierende) findet in der asynchronen, selbstgesteuerten Lernphase auf ADAM mit vorproduzierten Videos oder Aufzeichnungen (z.B. mit Panopto) oder mit Tales (Dienstleistung des New Media Centers) statt (siehe Kapitel 6.2).
  • Die interaktiven synchronen Präsenzsitzungen finden in Gruppen statt, wobei sich zum Einbezug nicht anwesender Studierender mindestens eine Gruppe im virtuellen Lehrraum (Zoom) trifft. Die andere(n) Gruppe(n) treffen sich wenn möglich im physischen Lehrraum auf dem Campus.
  • Die Studierenden werden informiert, was sie sich zur Vorbereitung der Präsenzsitzungen im asynchronen Selbststudium aneignen sollen (rote Linie «Lernbegleitung», siehe Kapitel 5).
  • Vorteil: Synchronen und asynchronen Phasen werden didaktisch sinnvoll genutzt.
  • Nachteil: Der Initialaufwand für die digitale Aufbereitung der Inhalte ist gross. Bei mehreren synchronen Gruppen ist der Zusatzaufwand zu beachten.



1Quelle: www.e-teaching.org, 14.07.2020