Online Teaching   Simple ways to communicate your content digitally

Online Teaching

Simple ways to communicate your content digitally

Hier finden Sie die deutsche Version

Would you like to make teaching materials available online for students? Or would you like to conduct your course in a virtual or hybrid classroom?

Last Update: 21.10.2020

Then you are in the right place. In this sequence, you will learn how to prepare teaching material digitally and make it accessible for self-study, but also how to conduct your lecture or seminar in a virtual or hybrid classroom.

We recommend simple and pragmatic solutions that you can prepare and implement at home. The following chapters show how you can add spoken text to your slides (Chapter 2) or create audio files (Chapter 3). We also provide tips for publishing media such as videos, slides or PDFs (Chapter 4). If you want to hold your lecture or seminar in a virtual or hybrid classroom, we also have a solution for you (Chapter 5). In addition, the university has recently started to provide a media set that you can use to create your online lecture (Chapter 6).

Perhaps you want both for your lecture: self-study materials as well as virtual classroom sessions. Blended learning is the didactically meaningful combination of synchronous “presence” events in a virtual or physical classroom (or possibly also in a hybrid classroom, i.e. presence in the physical classroom with live transmission for those not present) with self-directed asynchronous learning on the basis of new information and communication media. Detailed instructions for this purpose are available in the Blended-Learning-Guide.

We are aware that the current situation – caused by the Corona pandemic – means additional work for all of us. Nevertheless, please make sure that you comply with copyright law and privacy protection. The data protection officer of the University of Basel has put together a one-page summary of the necessary information that you may download here. Please also note the Regulations for Audio and Image Recording in Teaching (in German). We recommend reading these documents before preparing your next online lecture.

Further useful information about IT tools in teaching can be found in the overview of EduTools. Please find answers to frequently asked questions at the bottom of this page.

If you have any further questions, please contact the following e-mail address: corona-teaching@unibas.ch.


Are you interested in offering entire lectures online in the future? The New Media Center of the University of Basel offers you the possibility to prepare your contents in a multimedia and professional way with the platform “Tales”. You can find a good example here. The team of the New Media Center of the University of Basel will be happy to guide you through the development and creation of such an online course – but this requires more lead time. We look very much forward to hearing from you.

Online-Lehrveranstaltungen   Einfache Möglichkeiten, Ihre Inhalte digital zu vermitteln

Online-Lehrveranstaltungen

Einfache Möglichkeiten, Ihre Inhalte digital zu vermitteln

Find the English version here

Möchten Sie Unterrichtsmaterialien für die Studierenden der Universität online verfügbar machen? Oder möchten Sie Ihre Lehrveranstaltung im virtuellen oder hybriden Lehrraum durchführen?

Letztes Update: 21.10.2020

Dann sind Sie hier richtig. In dieser Sequenz erfahren Sie, wie Sie Unterrichtsmaterial digital aufbereiten und fürs Selbststudium zugänglich machen können, aber auch, wie Sie Ihre Vorlesung oder Ihr Seminar in einem virtuellen oder hybriden Lehrraum durchführen können.

Wir empfehlen Ihnen hier einfache und pragmatische Lösungen, die Sie auch zuhause vorbereiten und umsetzen können. Die folgenden Kapitel zeigen, wie Sie Ihre Folien besprechen (Kapitel 2) oder Audiodateien erstellen (Kapitel 3) können. Wir geben auch Tipps für die Veröffentlichung von Medien, wie Videos, Folien oder PDFs (Kapitel 4). Falls Sie Ihre Vorlesung oder Ihr Seminar im virtuellen oder hybriden Lehrraum anbieten wollen, halten wir ebenfalls eine Lösung für Sie bereit (Kapitel 5). Ausserdem hält die Universität seit kurzem auch ein Medienset bereit, das Sie zur Aufnahme Ihrer Lehrveranstaltung nutzen können (Kapitel 6).

Vielleicht wollen Sie für Ihre Lehrveranstaltung ja auch beides: Unterlagen zum Selbststudium aber auch Sitzungen im virtuellen Lehrraum. Unter Blended Learning versteht man die didaktisch sinnvolle Verknüpfung von synchronen “Präsenz”-Veranstaltungen im virtuellen oder physischen Lehrraum (oder ggf. auch im hybriden Lehrraum, d.h. Präsenz im physischen Lehrraum mit Live-Übertragung für nicht Anwesende) mit selbstgesteuertem asynchronen Lernen auf der Basis neuer Informations- und Kommunikationsmedien. Dazu steht ihnen mit dem Blended-Learning-Guide eine ausführliche Anleitung zur Verfügung.

Es ist uns bewusst, dass die aktuelle Situation – verursacht durch die Corona-Pandemie – Mehrarbeit bedeutet. Bitte achten Sie trotzdem darauf, Urheberrecht und Datenschutz einzuhalten. Hier finden Sie eine einseitige Zusammenfassung der Datenschutzbeauftragten der Universität Basel. Bitte beachten Sie auch das Reglement für die Ton- und Bildaufzeichnung in der Lehre. Wir empfehlen, diese Dokumente zu lesen, bevor Sie Ihre nächste Online-Veranstaltung vorbereiten.

Weitere nützliche Informationen rund um IT-Werkzeuge in der Lehre finden Sie in der Übersicht zu den EduTools. Die Antworten auf die häufigsten Fragen finden Sie am Fussende dieser Seite.

Bei weiteren Fragen wenden Sie sich bitte an folgende Mail-Adresse: corona-teaching@unibas.ch.


Haben Sie Interesse, in Zukunft ganze Vorlesungen online anzubieten? Das New Media Center der Universität Basel bietet Ihnen die Möglichkeit, mit der Plattform “Tales” Ihre Inhalte multimedial und professionell aufzubereiten. Ein gutes Beispiel finden Sie hier. Das Team des New Media Centers der Universität Basel begleitet Sie gerne durch die Entwicklung und Erstellung – diese braucht jedoch mehr Vorlaufszeit. Wir freuen uns über Ihre Kontaktaufnahme.