INTRODUCTION

1.1

Introduction

Classroom teaching faces restrictions due to the coronavirus pandemic. Due to the ongoing tense epidemiological situation, the spring semester 2021 has to start with fully online classes. A switch to classroom teaching will be possible after Easter at the earliest. Regardless of whether teaching is conducted on campus, virtually or in hybrid scenarios, it is important to guarantee that students have equal opportunities and the chance to study.

This blended learning guide is designed to help lecturers draw up course plans that allow them to switch between classroom and online teaching. The step-by-step guide covers the basics, elements to consider and ways to hold courses. Readers can consult individual chapters as required and apply only those sections they deem relevant to their situation. References in the guide and links to external resources are underlined in red. In total, it consists of three sections and seven chapters.


A) General Conditions

Chapter 2 of this guide provides an overview of the teaching guidelines communicated so far, the recommended teaching methods and the tools available for digital teaching.


B) Blended learning design

  • Chapter 3 sets out the basics of blended learning.

  • The focus is on establishing a good connection between synchronous1 learning phases (in person, whether physical or online) and asynchronous2 phases (independent study) within an integration concept Chapter 4.

  • This is followed by recommendations on provision of learning support, which will enable students to adapt throughout the semester and facilitate learning especially during asynchronous periods Chapter 5.


C) Infrastructure and technical considerations

  • The third section focuses specifically on how to use the digital tools available at the University of Basel.

  • For the asynchronous learning phase (independent study) of the guide, the focus in Chapter 6 is on ADAM. Our aim is to encourage you to explore and become more familiar with the various features of the learning management system, in order that you are able to use ADAM and its modules in your courses.

  • Chapter 7, which focuses on synchronous teaching, sets out teaching activities that can be held via Zoom (currently the most widely used tool) and other video-conferencing tools.

This blended learning guide is intended to give lecturers an orientation in order to plan and conduct blended learning classes. The blended learning guide refers to various support facilities and guidance notes. It will be revised and expanded on an ongoing basis.



1 Synchronous: sharing a physical, hybrid or virtual location at the same time
2 Asynchronous: not dependent on time or location

Copyright

EINLEITUNG

1.1

Einleitung

Im Kontext der Corona-Pandemie ist Präsenzlehre nicht oder nicht in vollem Umfang möglich. Das Frühjahrssemester 2021 muss wegen der anhaltend angespannten epidmiologischen Situation mit vollständigem Online-Unterricht starten. Ein Wechsel zu Präsenz-Unterricht wird frühestens nach Ostern möglich sein. Trotzdem gilt es, für die Studierenden Chancengleichheit und Studierbarkeit zu gewährleisten. Dies unabhängig davon, ob der Unterricht in physischer Präsenz, virtuell oder in hybriden Szenarien durchgeführt wird.

Dieser Blended Learning Guide soll Dozierende bei der Konzeption von Lehrveranstaltungen unterstützen, die einen Wechsel zwischen Präsenz und Online ermöglichen. Der Leitfaden zeigt schrittweise die Grundlagen, Elemente und Umsetzungsmöglichkeiten auf. Je nach Bedarf können Leserinnen und Leser aber auch zwischen den Kapiteln «springen» und nur einzelne Teile verwenden. Verweise innerhalb des Leitfadens und Links auf externe Ressourcen sind rot unterstrichen. Er umfasst drei Teile und insgesamt sieben Kapitel.


A) Rahmenbedingungen

Kapitel 2 dieses Leitfadens gibt einen Überblick über die bisher kommunizierten Richtlinien für die Lehre, die empfohlenen Unterrichtsformen und die zur Verfügung stehenden Tools für die digitale Lehre.


B) Blended Learning Design

  • In Kapitel 3 wird zunächst die Grundlagen zum Blended Learning vorgestellt.

  • Zentral ist dabei die strukturierte Verbindung von synchronen1 Lernphasen (Präsenz, entweder physisch oder online) und asynchronen2 Lernphasen (Selbststudium) in einem Integrationskonzept Kapitel 4.

  • Danach erhalten Sie Empfehlungen zur Lernbegleitung, die den Studierenden über das Semester hinweg Orientierung gibt und vor allem das Lernen in den asynchronen Phasen unterstützt Kapitel 5.


C) Infrastruktur und technische Umsetzung

  • Im dritten Teil werden konkrete Umsetzungsmöglichkeiten mit den digitalen Werkzeugen aufgezeigt, die an der Universität Basel zur Verfügung stehen.

  • Für die asynchrone Lernphase, das Selbststudium, steht in Kapitel 6 ADAM im Mittelpunkt der Anleitung – wir möchten Sie ermutigen, die vielfältigen Funktionen des Learning Management Systems umfassender kennenzulernen und zu explorieren, um ADAM und seine Bausteine für Ihre Lehre zu nutzen.

  • In Kapitel 7 zum synchronen Unterricht werden Lernaktivitäten beschrieben, die sich mit Zoom (dem aktuell vorrangig eingesetzten Tool), aber auch mit anderen Videokonferenz-Werkzeugen umsetzen lassen.

Dieser Blended Learning Guide soll Ihnen als Dozierenden eine Orientierung für die Planung und Umsetzung von Blended-Learning-Lehrveranstaltungen bieten. Der Blended Learning Guide verweist auf verschiedene Unterstützungsangebote und Anleitungen. Er wird laufend überarbeitet und ergänzt.



1 Synchron: zur gleichen Zeit an einem gemeinsamen, physisch, hybrid oder virtuell geteilten Ort
2 Asynchron: unabhängig von Zeit und Ort

Copyright