GENERAL CONDITIONS

2.2

Teaching formats

The University of Basel prioritizes interaction between students and teaching staff as well as discussion and exchange among students. The university likewise values good learning support and supervision for students engaged in independent study. Appropriate participation in classes should be enabled for students who cannot be present due to coronavirus restrictions.

If it is not possible to teach students in classrooms, a blended learning approach is recommended. This combines joint learning in a shared physical, hybrid or virtual space (synchronous teaching) with autonomous learning, regardless of time or place (asynchronous learning phase, self-study) (see Chapter 3).


Small classes in person

Classroom teaching is possible in all cases where the number of participants does not pose a compliance issue in terms of distancing and hygiene regulations in the allocated rooms, or where classroom teaching has been expressly desired and approved by the faculty and an appropriate room could be made available (see Chapter 4.8 for a practical example).


Medium-sized and larger classes using a blended learning format

Instead of systematically implementing hybrid classes, we recommend alternating synchronous and asynchronous teaching phases, potentially dividing the overall group to achieve this. Shared use of rooms in alternation (e.g. to enable phases of classroom participation for multiple groups in larger lecture halls) is supported in consultation with teaching staff and is registered using the room coordination system (see Chapter 4.7 for a practical example).


Large lectures using a flipped classroom format with group elements

Except for first semester lectures, large lectures will generally take place online. The blended learning format recommended for lectures is the “flipped classroom”: knowledge is communicated in asynchronous, guided independent study, which is followed by synchronous group sessions (virtual or in person) for clarifying questions, discussion, applying what has been learned and deepening understanding. Accompanying working groups or tutorials can take place in person, providing it is possible to organize appropriate rooms (see Chapter 4.6 for an example).

RAHMENBEDINGUNGEN

2.2

Unterrichtsformen

Die Universität Basel legt besonderen Wert auf Interaktivität zwischen Studierenden und Dozierenden sowie den Austausch der Studierenden untereinander. Ebenso legt sie Wert auf eine gute Lernbegleitung und Betreuung der Studierenden im Selbststudium. Corona-bedingt abwesenden Studierenden soll eine adäquate Partizipation am Unterricht ermöglicht werden.

Wo kein Präsenzunterricht möglich ist, wird ein Blended-Learning-Ansatz empfohlen, der, gemeinsames Lernen zur gleichen Zeit an einem gemeinsamen, physisch, hybrid oder virtuell geteilten Ort (synchroner Unterricht) mit selbstgesteuertem Lernen unabhängig von Zeit und Ort (asynchrone Lernphase, Selbststudium) verknüpft (siehe Kapitel 3).


Kleine Veranstaltungen in Präsenz

Präsenzunterricht ist in den Fällen möglich, bei denen aufgrund der Teilnehmerzahlen die Einhaltung der Abstands- und Hygieneregeln in zugeteilten Räumen kein Problem darstellt oder aber eine Präsenz ausdrücklich von der Fakultät gewünscht und genehmigt wurde und ein entsprechender Raum zur Verfügung gestellt werden kann (Umsetzungsbeispiel siehe Kapitel 4.8).


Mittlere und grössere Veranstaltungen im Blended-Learning-Format

Anstelle des systematischen Einsatzes von hybridem Unterricht empfehlen wir, synchrone und asynchrone Unterrichtsphasen abzuwechseln und dabei evtl. die Gesamtgruppe zu teilen. Gemeinsame Raumnutzungen im Wechsel (etwa um für mehrere Gruppen in grösseren Hörsälen Präsenzanteile zu ermöglichen) nach Absprache der Dozierenden werden unterstützt und entsprechend über die Raumkoordination angemeldet (Umsetzungsbeispiel siehe Kapitel 4.7).


Grosse Vorlesungen als Flipped Classroom mit Gruppen-Elementen

Grosse Vorlesungen werden ausser bei Erstsemesterveranstaltungen in der Regel digital durchgeführt. Das empfohlene Blended-Learning-Format für Vorlesungen ist der sogenannte Flipped Classroom: Die Wissensvermittlung erfolgt asynchron im begleiteten Selbststudium, die Klärung von Fragen, Diskussion, Anwendung und Vertiefung synchron in Gruppen (virtuell oder in Präsenz). Begleitende Arbeitsgruppen oder Tutorate können in Präsenz stattfinden, wo sich das räumlich organisieren lässt (Umsetzungsbeispiel siehe Kapitel 4.6).